Roulotte

by

In response to Lisa’s question of “vision,”

Here is an image straight from one of my fantasies.  There is an incredible flickr set of roulottes that I frequently drool over.  I like natural, simple, and all, but this gets me all shivery, this gypsy stuff.

I’ve been dreaming of a sort of art/spirit retreat somewhere in the mountains with a main house and a collection of roulottes.

Tell me this doesn’t make you want to sing.

I’ve found a few related roulotte (aka vardo, gypsy caravan, gypsy wagon) sites:

Daphne’s Caravans

The Tiny House Blog (not usually specifically gypsy but a reeeeally great blog)

and of course, The Hermitage (swoon!)

there’s another site or two that I can’t find, but will come back and add.

Tags: , , ,

10 Responses to “Roulotte”

  1. lisanelson Says:

    Terri, ♥ I you and your vision, but I would go freaking insane in one of these.

    Makes me think we could all design/build our individual homes for the commune? That way everybody could be happy!

  2. lisanelson Says:

    Oh my, The Hermitage is wonderful!

  3. RebeccaW Says:

    I remember you posting these a while ago. I love how they look, but I always worry about rain. Will it have to rain in the commune? Or could we just direct it to the organic farm part of it :)

  4. Terri Says:

    You’re so right, Lisa. I’d drive myself crazy, too. But that wouldn’t be out of the ordinary. And Rebecca, ah yes. Practicality. Hm. Well, how about we just have one or two? A place to rest or retreat from the . . . er . . . retreat?

  5. crazyneighborchick Says:

    <3 <3 <3
    Last night on Anthony Bourdain he was in Provence, France and I thought of you when he took a nap in a old circus car that looked ALOT like this.)

  6. Susie Says:

    where do I sign?

  7. pixie Says:

    But they’d be so freaking awesome to have as little cottages for visiting folk to stay in! You know, if it was a mild climate, I think I can do it. I’ve been admiring Jay Shaffer’s Vardo for years, but I don’t think he’s making it anymore. He’s the tiny house guy.
    I’m so in love with this photo!

  8. linda Says:

    I too have had that lovely gypsy wagon over on my blog! I also love the Hermitage! Nice…

  9. LisaD Says:

    Oh how I love these!! We are getting ready to start our big RV remodel and I think I will steal a few ideas here!!!

  10. Kristen Says:

    I love this image! It does make me drool. I live in a small cottage in Santa Barbara (not that small, but pretty small), but we have a lot of outdoor space. I think you can get by with a lot smaller living spaces in milder climates if you have plenty of outdoor space. Anyway, thanks for posting that image, I’m gonna take a look at a few of those sites!
    -Kristen

Leave a comment